Cllr Keith Cunliffe


Councillor Keith Cunliffe is the Deputy Leader of the Council and has had the Portfolio for Health and Adult Social Care since 2008.  He has been the political lead and driver of the Deal for Adult Social Care and Health and is Joint Chair of the Wigan Health and Wellbeing Board.

Keith is a Member Peer at the Local Government Association providing peer review, mentoring, and workshops to a number of Local Authorities. He is also the National Chair of the Industrial Communities Alliance.

He was a Mental Health Nurse for 40 years and managed a number of Mental Health Services.

Cllr Russell Imrie

Senior Vice Chair

Russell Imrie has been a Labour elected member on Midlothian Council since 1995 and is currently Cabinet Spokesperson for Communities and Economy, Zero Waste and Strategic Transportation.  Russell is also Chairperson of the Council’s Planning Committee.

He has a keen interest in economic development, environmental and sustainability issues.  Russell was an engineer with British Telecom and an active trade unionist.

Cllr Martin Bond

Vice Chair

North West region

Martin Bond is an elected member for Haydock and Cabinet member for Finance and Governance at St Helens MBC. He is Chair of the NW Region. Haydock is one of the oldest pit villages in Britain and is proud of its mining heritage.

Martin comes from both mining and glass making stock, with family heritage in the Trade Union and Labour movement. One of his paternal Great Grandmothers was a Pit Brow Lass, Suffragette and member of the ILP.

He has been a Trade Union Branch Secretary for over 20 years and provides Employment Advice at Citizens Advice. He is a founding Trustee of the Workers Memorial in St Helens as well as being a Trustee of the Liverpool Irish Festival.

Cllr Robin Franklin

Vice Chair, Chair

Yorkshire & Humber region

Hoyland and Milton Ward – Barnsley MBC

Cllr David White

Vice Chair, Chair, ALLIANCE WALES

Ward Newcastle – Bridgend CBC

Cllr Steve Manion

Honorary Treasurer, Chair

Midlands and Sothern region

Mr Stephen Charles Manion was elected to the County Council in June 2009 as the Member for Dover North. He is a consultant in Operations and Resource Management. He is a fellow of both the American Production and Inventory Management Society and of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and transport in the UK. He runs his own business providing courses in supply chain management.

He completed Post Graduate Research in Wheat Quality at Charles Sturt University and Airlines at Hornsby TAFE. Previous to this he served in 3rd Battalion of the Royal New South Wales Regiment (3 RNSWR – Reserve light infantry battalion of the Australian Army) for five years and was awarded the Australian Defence Medal for his military servicemen has served as a member of The Kent & Medway Towns Fire & Rescue Authority since 2013.

Mr Manion has served as a District Councillor since 2003, and is the member of Dover District Council for Eastry Ward covering the Parishes of Eastry, Northbourne, Sutton, Tilmanstone and Great Mongeham. He has served as the Vice-Chairman of the Council. He is Dover District Council’s and Kent County Councils representative on The Industrial Communities Alliance (the Coalfield Communities Campaign) and is also the Chairman for the Midlands and South region as well as the honorary treasurer of the National Executive Committee and has served on the Liaison Committee of the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield.

Cllr Altany Craik

Chair, Alliance Scotland

Convener – Economy, Tourism. Strategic Planning & Transportation Committee

Cllr for Ward: Glenrothes West and Kinglassie – Fife Council